Manly Cupcakes

What do you think of when you hear the word “cupcake?” You think of cute things, right? Puffy clouds, rainbows, ponies, pixies dancing on raindrops-girly stuff.

Well “girly” and “cute” are two words that DO NOT fly in the BOLD household unless they are in direct reference to mama or a potential sister for the boys. Pretty much everything in our house is hyper-masculine.

Hunting.

Wrestling.

Sword fighting.

B-boying.

Hu! Ha! Grrrr!

So I knew that since Rhythm had requested cupcakes for his birthday this year I would have to take extra care to make them as anti-girl as possible!

Well nothing says manly like skulls, swords and sea chanties, does it? He had originally wanted a reprise of Lightning McQueen, but the cupcake version. Since I wasn’t quite up for that, we opted for the Pirates instead.

As luck would have it, that good old Pioneer Woman came through for me again. Just as I was contemplating the purchase of a boxed cake mix (gasp! The horror!), she posted this delightful little recipe for vanilla cupcakes with creamcheese frosting! I knew she was good, but this whole mind-reading thing took my love for her to a whole new level!

There is one bone I have to pick with you though, Ms. Drummond (or Ree-Ree as I affectionately refer to her in my daydreams where we are best friends). You said this recipe makes 18 cupcakes.

I believed you.

You lied!

Now look at this mess! The only hope these poor babies stood at this point was a healthy dose of frosting!

And yes, I know the frosting is terribly flat- I actually did that on purpose to stretch it though, since I knew I was covering it with cookies 'n cream sprinkles anyway!

And some distracting flags!

Dun da da da! Problem solved! Phew! That was a close one!

I wish I had a better picture of these dears to offer you, but… my camera sucks.  So, with wonky lighting and a point and shoot Sony, this was the best I could do.

And lastly, I must say, that even though I had to stay up ’til all hours of the night to get these babies done (since, ya know, I had that kind of week last week), and even had to frost them the morning of the party- they were worth it.  I don’t like cupcakes period, but everyone else loved them!  Oogled over them! Adored them!  They were a hit!

And I just may have removed the frosting off a few with a knife and licked it completely clean.

Just maybe.

🙂

Tags:

6 Comments to “Manly Cupcakes”

  1. Those are so cute! Errr I mean – masculine! 😉 Where did you find cookies n cream sprinkles? I’ve never heard of such deliciousness.

  2. Those look so yummy and manly. I love them! Thanks for sharing the recipe too. I have a little girl who will be turning one soon and found a fantastic way to make butterfly candies for the tops of cupcakes (from the new issue of Family Fun magazine) and now I have a cupcake and frosting recipe that will be spectacular as well.

  3. Cute…or should I say cool or macho? I can’t help thinking about gold foil candy treasure as a side dish!

Leave a comment