Gnocchi with Mushroom Sauce, how I love thee!

Well here’s another one that comes courtesy of The Pioneer Woman… sorta. Well, she posted a picture of it a few weeks ago and I’ve had it up in a browser tab ever since, just waiting for the perfect time to make it. I don’t know why yesterday was “perfect” for it, but I was in the mood for a culinary adventure so I gave it a go!

It also might have helped that The Carpenter had had the Food Network on in the background of most of our day. Just sayin, wathin’ good cookin’ gets you in the mood to cook!

20110518-100709.jpg

I paired the gnocchi with this recipe from Ina May Garten for Parmesan Chicken (or an improvised version of it based on the episode I saw yesterday anyway). Oh, and we had some horribly overcooked broccoli, but hey, you can’t expect the whole meal to be perfect… that’s just asking too much!

Can I just say it was divine? The whole process (aside from the broccoli). I mean, I got to pound out chicken with a mallet (which I REALLY needed yesterday) and make this AMAZING sauce!

20110518-101226.jpg

I may or may not have stood over the stove slurping every last spoonful straight out of the pan. It was every bit as addicting as The Pioneer Woman’s Whiskey Cream Sauce. I mean, I could have almost eaten it as a stand alone soup! It was just incredible!

And the aroma… well, I guess you had to be there. And you could be if you made it (here’s the recipe)! This will absolutely be a new staple side dish round these parts. The only thing I think I’d do different is use fresh ground whole wheat flower in the gnocchi itself and possibly almond flour in the place of breadcrumbs on the chicken. Other than that… perfection!

Oh, and not overcook the broccoli! 🙂

20110518-101757.jpg

Leave a comment